Subscribe Us

header ads

Everyday Problems. 16 Teams. imake.wemake

Participants in the recently held 2nd imake.wemake competition

The Department of Science and Technology-Science Education Institute’s (DOST-SEI) in with Acer Philippines collaborated in conducting the 2nd imake.wemake competition 16 school teams. This was to give an opportunity among the teams composed of 16 senior high schools in crafting and developing technology-based solutions to issues regarding education, traffic, waste management, and disaster risk reduction and management. 

“It will be a battle among school teams but the real winners here are Filipinos who will benefit from their inventions,” according to DOST-SEI Director Josette Biyo. 

The 5-day project development and pitching competition were graced by Director Biyo and Ace Philippines General Manager Manuel Wong at the Microtel UP Technohub in Quezon City. 

Among the inventions featured were low-cost GPS tracking for wildlife conservation, online waste-management integration, and an anti-overloading device.

“Our young inventors proved that they understand the needs of the people and know how they can address such. We’re more than happy to provide them a venue for their technical skills and creativity in imake.wemake,” Biyo said.   

There were 65 proposals submitted and decisions were based on project viability and potential that can address everyday but important societal and community issues. The judging panel was composed of UP Electrical and Electronics Engineering Institute professors Dr. Nestor Tiglao and Engr. Percival Magpantay, Ateneo de Manila University professor Engr. Carlos Matti Oppus, and Acer Philippines Business Development Manager Alexis de Guzman.

The participating schools in the competition are the following:

1. Centro Escolar University-Manila
2. College of St. John – Roxas
3. De La Salle University Integrated School – Laguna
4. Dr. Yanga’s Colleges
5. Grace Christian College
6. Masbate National Comprehensive High School
7. New Era University
8. Philippine Science High School – Cagayan Valley Campus
9. Philippine Science High School – CAR Campus
10. Philippine Science High School – Central Luzon Campus
11. Philippine Science High School – Central Visayas Campus
12. Philippine Science High School – Eastern Visayas Campus
13. Rizal National Science High School
14. Santa Rosa Science and Technology High School
15. Taguig Science High School
16. Technological Institute of the Philippines Cubao Campus. 

Project building and testing by the teams will be for 3 months. The Final Presentation and Awarding Ceremony will be held this December 2018 with a prize of Php50,000.00 for the top 3 teams. 

Post a Comment