Subscribe Us

header ads

Seven LGUs Bag 5th Egov Awards

Winners of the G2C awards
Seven innovative local government units in the Philippines were recognized during the 5th Awards for Excellence in ICT for Good Governance for Local Government Units (Egov Awards) held in Tacloban City yesterday, November 11, 2016. They are the cities of Legazpi, Marikina, Valenzuela, Quezon, Tagum and San Fernando, La Union and the municipality of Nagcarlan, Laguna.

Legazpi City’s Balangay: A Cloud Information System for Disaster tied with the Integrated Transport Management System of San Fernando, La Union for the first place in the Best in Customer Empowerment (G2C) Award.

The G2C category recognizes the measurable effect of an LGU’s outstanding practices using ICT solutions in the education and engagement of the public and in the use of electronic facilities and channels towards providing improved, timely and relevant delivery of public services.

The Marikina Business Portal topped the Best in Business Empowerment (G2B) Award which recognizes the significant effect of an LGU’s laudable practices in integrating ICT solutions and the commitment of its administration in the LGU’s responsiveness to the needs of business enterprises, thereby creating business opportunities.

Winners of the G2B awards
Marikina City also came in third place in the G2C category for its Marikina One Map.

The Valenzuela City Online Services and the ALS ANA KALANG CeC (Alternative Learning System Ang NAgcarlan sa KAbuhayan at Literasi Aangat at Nangunguna sa Galing Community electronic Center) of the Municipality of Nagcarlan, Laguna tied for second place in the G2C Category.

Completing the top three finishers in the G2B is Legazpi City’s Vision 2020:  Invest Legazpi which came in second place with the Continued Information & Communications Technology (ICT) Innovations for A More Effective and Efficient Business Permit and Licensing Procedure of Tagum City in the third place.

The Quezon City Business One Stop Shop (QC BOSS) was given a special award for the ePayment or Best in Digital Finance empowerment.

The eGOV Awards is an annual search for the best practices in local government units in utilizing information and  communications technology (ICT) to effectively and efficiently deliver its public services directly to its constituents and to its business stakeholders.

The objective of the eGOV Awards is to encourage the effective and efficient utilization of information and communications technology (ICT) in the delivery of services and in the performance of duties and responsibilities by local government units (LGU’s).

We also aim to commend, collate and document best practices of LGU’s in integrating ICT in their processes to serve as example and benchmarks to other LGU’s and to improve the business ecosystem of the LGUs and motivate the private and business sector to actively participate and invest in the growth of the LGU’s, said Jocelle Batapa-Sigue, awards chair and NICP trustee.

Criteria for judging include innovative management in the use of ICT, impact or major results, their effects and benefits to the recipients of the service, relevance of the project to the overall objectives of the LGU and replication potential.

NICP led by  Wilfredo Sa-a, executive director of the Cebu Educational Foundation for Information Technology (CEDF-IT), also announced that three more categories will be opened in next year’s search, namely the Best in Data – Driven Governance (D2G) initiated in partnership with the Data Privacy Commission, Best in Government to Government Interoperability (G2G) and the Digital Finance empowerment or e-Payment./JBS

Post a Comment